Update on Creative Writing: NaNoWriMo and Third Novel

ImageHi Everyone,

The 11th of November is approaching, and since my last update on my creative writing, I mentioned I had two assignments due on that day, and two others due on the 14th and 15th. Luckily I have finished two assignments, need to proof read one tomorrow and send it in, and then my last one for the 15th needs to be edited and proof read. And while all of this has been happening, I started the National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo).

My Historical Fiction novel set in Classical Greece has been developing well. I am currently on 21,962 words and updating this on my NaNo account and on Twitter to keep me motivated to keep writing every day so I can hit that 50,000 words mark. Last night, I stayed up until 4am, yes, you heard correctly, writing out my plot outline on A2 paper which I have included the image below. I have worked out the structure of my book, and there will be up to 30 Chapters that I need to write for this novel, and I can tell you now, it is going to be way over 50,000 words. I think it will be around 80,000 to 100,000 word novel. So I think completing the novel in 1 month’s time will not be happening, I’m going to have to extend this to December and possibly January depending how I am going. But I am hoping to continue to update my Twitter account every day to keep me motivated to get this first draft of my Third Novel down.

IMG_5727IMG_5729 I originally had the idea for the novel in my first year at uni in 2010 doing my first Creative Writing course – ah, the memories. It had started out as an exercise from writing from shifting points of view. I wrote about a Spartan soldier being killed by an Athenian. The Athenian Empire and Spartans have been popular in the academic field, but I wanted to focus on the other aspects of the historical period. What about the other islands, the other city-states? Why not focus on the small guys and social history, and what about women and slaves, they need a voice too? Then I eventually came up with my idea, and I can give you a hint, the blog picture of the Ancient Greek plate that is a symbol of my blog, was the image that influenced me to write about my narrators – yes, they are a couple. Inspiration can hit anywhere at any time. This Greek Plate my Dad has up on our wall in our living room. And ever since 2010, I have been collecting research, wrote my novel as an original short story for a uni assignment, but knew it was bigger, and there was more to the story. And because the novel is set on my family’s island Lesvos, you could imagine how excited I was to travel there once again, for the second time, this year, to collect more research, and be physically on the island I am writing about, and exploring its ancient ruins of the Messa Temple, Ancient Pyrrha, and the Klopedi sanctuary – this will be written about in another Greece Holiday blog post.

So here I am, finally, now, in 2013, working on it for NaNoWriMo. I feel, invigorated.

Till next time,

Claire

800px-Hermaphroditus_Louvre_face

7 thoughts on “Update on Creative Writing: NaNoWriMo and Third Novel

Leave a Reply

