Over the 40,000 word mark for NaNoWriMo

ImagePhoto of Me by Effy Alexakis, Photowrite: http://www.photowrite.com.au/

Hi Everyone,

It is Day 21 of NaNoWriMo, I am over the 40,000 word mark, sitting on 43,615 words! Cannot believe I have made it this far. The first week was a breeze, motivation high, writing every day, finished all uni assignments, then week 2 hit and BAM. Motivation dropping, but I needed to keep going and keep going, nearly there. Now finally, I’m doing the last 10,000 words left till I hit the 50k! Unbelievable.

At the beginning, the month felt like it was going slow, but looking back now, it has gone pretty quick, and then it will be the 30th of November. In my last update on my creative writing I mentioned that I was going to keep my NaNoWriMo going after November – most likely I will continue it till January and the whole first draft of the novel with be completed. And then revision and redrafting and rewriting. However, I’m planning on slowing the process down, still to try and write everyday, which I have been doing consistently this whole month – I honestly thought it was not going to work. But if one day goes by after November, and I did no writing, I think I can live with that – give myself a break and a pat on the back for actually finishing NaNoWriMo for the first time! Mustn’t get too ahead of myself until I hit the final target.

My Senior Lecturer of Creative Writing at Macquarie University, Jane Messer, has written an article for The Conversation, an independent source of news and views, sourced from the academic and research community. Her article was about NaNoWriMo and the art of speed writing. I sent her information about how I was going with NaNoWriMo this year, and the process I have taken with using Scrivener. To read the article you can go to:

I was quoted that I have combined my NaNoWriMo with my social media sites to push me to the deadline, which is great for us writers to keep us motivated, and to know, other people out there that know me, can see I have made a commitment to my writing. It’s all about perseverance, “using social media to structure a writing life,” as Jane Messer has said.

I have also been following Kate Granville’s rules that I learned from my first Creative Writing unit at Macquarie University:

  1. Never Leave a Blank Page
  2. Don’t wait for the Mood
  3. You can fix it up Later
  4. Don’t wait for the Time to Write

I have these rules near my desk so I can see them and be reminded when writing. They are perfect, straightforward rules to use when doing NaNoWriMo. My next blog posts will be another Greece Holiday, and updating when I hit the target goal for NaNoWriMo.

Till next time,
Claire

https://clairecatacouzinos.files.wordpress.com/2013/11/317ba-writing.jpg

5 thoughts on “Over the 40,000 word mark for NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

