Writerly Update, January

Hi Everyone,

Happy New Year and Hronia Polla! I can’t believe 2014 has finished and it’s already the new year. I completed my creative thesis and finished my MA in Creative Writing degree. I’ll be graduating in April this year, and in late February I’ll be starting my diploma in secondary teaching at ACU. It’s going to be a busy and bizarre year for me, doing 6 education units a semester, and winter and summer school so that by this time next year, I’ve completed another degree and I can finally get a full-time job.

During the university break I’m taking it easy, hopefully I’ll be working on a couple of writing projects but I’m not going to stress myself out. I want to enjoy the holidays until I start a completely new degree at a different university. At the moment I’m revising one of my manuscripts, and then with my Second Novel I’ll be writing the extra chapters I wanted to work on after I finished my creative thesis. Fingers crossed I’ll find time during this year to write while studying.

For Christmas I received this amazing book, Greece: History and Treasures of an Ancient Civilization by Stefano Maggi from my father-in-law, which has me itching to write more historical fiction; but like I said, I’m taking it easy during the holidays.

I also finished my fourteen week course at Macleay College doing a Diploma in Book Editing and Publishing where I met amazing friends. I’m aspiring to get a casual or part-time job in the future with book editing, while also trying to get my novels published. I’ve finished my 1 year contract at Grapeshot where I was the Copy-Editor of the Student Publication Magazine of Macquarie University. It was a fantastic experience and one I will never forget for my last year studying at Macquarie. I made a promise to myself that if I got this job, I would pursue my passion in editing and did the degree at Macleay College, and I’m so thankful that I did.

With my creative writing I’m currently waiting for responses on my historical fiction short stories and contemporary poems for publication. In 2014 I was rejected 28 times for different multiple submissions. But like they say, to show proof that you are a writer, you need to have a mountain of rejection emails, and boy, do I have a lot. But it’s all part of the roller-coaster process of being a writer.

Lastly, a Greek tradition that my family does every year is make a vasilopita – a New Year’s Cake that has a hidden gold coin inside it. If you are the lucky person to have the coin in your slice of cake, you will be blessed with Good Luck for the year. All the family members sit around the table while our dad cuts the cake for each person of the household, to bless the house and bring good luck for the new year. Finally, after 23 years, I won the hidden gold coin!

IMG_9074So here’s to a New Year of Good Luck! Hopefully something amazing happens!

Best wishes,
Claire

8 thoughts on “Writerly Update, January

  1. Happy New Year claire! Don’t worry about those rejections Claire, I have a stack of them too!
    Good luck with your submissions, hope this is the year for you.

      1. Yes, if all goes to plan I’ll finally be finished my YA fantasy by mid Feb and will start submitting to agents. Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

