Two Poetry Publications in the Greek-Australian Cultural League’s 2016 Antipodes Periodical – “Lesvos” & “Metaxy”

img_3104

Hi Everyone,

I’m super excited to announce that two of my poems “Lesvos” and “Metaxy” were published in the Greek-Australian Cultural League’s 2016 Periodical Antipodes.

img_3100

The first poem is titled “Lesvos” about the persona feeling linguistically alienated when they visit their motherland, and yearning to be reconnected and accepted by anthropomorphising the island, Lesvos. It questions the concept of home for emerging types of generations in Australia. It explores the issues of our identity, of being assimilated into the Australian culture and yet yearning to be part of (and accepted by) our cultural background even though we might be different – a common conflict amongst young Australians.

img_3133

The second poem is titled “Metaxy” which is a manifesto showing that it is permissible to be in two different cultures (as an In-Betweener, a Metaxy), even if you feel cultural displacement growing up in Australia and with the relationships that you have with others. It explores the issues of the quest for self and our identity. I decided the poem would show my own personal growth, on how I define myself as Australian-Greek, and to see the bigger picture that there is a generation in Australia like me, that I want to represent as a poet.

Both of my poems were written in late 2013 as part of my unit “Poetry Seminar” during my Master’s degree.

I’m hugely grateful for the Greek-Australian Cultural League’s ongoing support and the fact that they provide a platform and environment to write about this important material on the Greek Diaspora, especially for emerging generations in Australia.

Best wishes,
Claire

If you would like to purchase the Periodical Antipodes, you can become a member online on the Greek-Australian Cultural League’s website here, where you will receive a free copy of the bi-lingual periodical.

For more information about the publications of my two poems and to read them, please go to their official pages on my website: “Lesvos” and “Metaxy“.

And for more information about the 2016 Antipodes Periodical Launch party click here.

4 thoughts on “Two Poetry Publications in the Greek-Australian Cultural League’s 2016 Antipodes Periodical – “Lesvos” & “Metaxy”

  1. This is wonderful! I have another friend who is having an entire book of poetry published soon. Perhaps poetry is enjoying a comeback: I hope so. Congratulations, Claire.

Leave a Reply

